Tags

, , , , , ,


 

As always, Mom is the first to celebrate  another blessed year in my life – I luv that lady! As a special treat she surprized me with some Martinelli’s Sparkling Apple Juice and a Jamaican Black Rum cake. If you know anything about Jamaican rum cake, you know that I was too excited – we definitely had a good time.

Birthday plans with the girls got pushed back to this weekend but that did not stop me from taking the day off last Monday and having a total “me day”. Sometimes a me day is necessary – no friends, no family, no noise around, just a moment of silence is good every now and then.  For the day, the plan was (a) go to the beach (b) have a nice cocktail and just twirl around the dance floor once or twice.

Before the beach, I made sure the hair was well hydrated. Sun will dry out you hair if you are not careful to coat it with a leave in conditioner or water based moisturizer. For added protection while on the beach I also made sure to spray it with water/grapefruit mixture. Remember to keep that mini spray bottle with you at all times this summer.

Later that night I was off to the Fela listening party at Brooklyn Bowl in Williamsburg. My first time there and it was such an insanely amazing space – I will surely be back. The Fela band played while vintage Fela clips danced across the large screens. Later Questlove from the Roots crew played dj for the rest of the night, it was Amazing!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

