Tags

, , ,


Nneka in German Vogue

 

 Most recently,  I ran across Nneka (pronounced “Neck-‘a’) – a Nigerian born hip-hop/soul/afro-beat singer, songwriter, poet, and activist whose song “Hearbeat” and “Love” lead me to do a little digging into her bio. Performing as the opening act for Sean Paul in 2004 lead to the anticipation of her first album in 2005. Some compare Nneka to the likes of Erykah Badu and Lauryn Hill but she is surely an artist that can stand on her own name. Concrete Jungle, her latest album and the first to debut in the US is not to be overlooked. As I am listening to her music (enlightened, smiling, head&body swaying) guilt is kicking in – how could I have not heard about her before now!!! No looking back, I’m a fan.

What I love most about her is that she reminds us of the TRUTH – the truth in ourselves and the world around us. She is a woman with a free spirit, love and a certain passion…. of course, I am loving her hair!  Liberated curls that seem to live by their own rules.

Follow my blog with bloglovin

