Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Over the past Dr. King weekend,  I stumbled across a documentary about the Black American experience in late 60’s to the 70’s. The Black Power Mixtappe 1967 – 1975 is a collection of interviews during the Black Power movement that was shot by Swedish filmmakers. The film is written and directed by Göran Hugo Olsson and includes appearances by: Stokely Carmichael (Kwame Ture), Eldridge Cleaver, Kathleen Cleaver, Bobby Seale, Huey P. Newton, Emile de Antonio, William Kunstler, and Angela Davis.

Including audio commentary by a few of my favorite people in the world: Erykah Badu, Harry Belafonte, Kathleen Cleaver, Angela Davis, John Forté, Robin Kelley, Talib Kweli, Abiodun Oyewole, Melvin Van Peebles, Sonia Sanchez, Bobby Seale and Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson, who also created the original music with Om’Mas Keith

After you watch it, you can’t help but think of the incredible strength that African-Americans had at that time…..can you imagine! I could not help but be inspired to find that within myself today and get back to the thought of being there, not only for myself and my family but being involved in the community I live in.

I was inspired by Angela Davis.  Immediately after the film, I went on to research her story and accomplishments as if I was back in school writing a term paper. Not only did I adore by her awesome NATURAL HAIR and STYLE, I was utterly motivated by her strength to propel the Black Power movement.  Never did she surrender to defeat. She remained persistent to defend her right to exist and be free.

Lesson Learned:  Know your history. Be FREE with who you are as the person God made us to be.
 
Watch it for yourself and share your thoughts?
 
 
 
Enjoy these stills from the movie……

– ♥ LC

           LIKE LushCoils on FACEBOOK!

         TWEET LushCoils on TWITTER!

          Give LushCoils some BLOGLOVIN!

